PDA

View Full Version : Any high schoolers out there?

kiteskimo
11-16-2009, 13:35
Helllo. I'm 16 and planning on graduating a semester early in 2011 to thru NoBo. Anyone else in this same situation? Just curious because it seems like everyone else my age would be appalled at the idea out being outside for more then the time it takes them to walk to the car!

ShelterLeopard
11-16-2009, 13:40
Well, I graduated two years ago, and I've been taking time off. I'm 19, and I'm staring my thru in 3 months. Good luck. And dont' be surprised if all your friends think your nuts.

PS- Have you hiked before? What is the longest hike you've ever done, and how do you plan to save enough money for your thru if you're still in school?

kiteskimo
11-16-2009, 13:50
Thanks!
I've hiked a bit before...did a backpacking trip on the Appalachian Trail about 30 miles and then one in the Adirondacks of New York.

Right now, I don't have much free time, but hopefully I'll be able to get a job at subway or dunkin donuts (yay!) and work after school and on the weekends. I had this kind of epiphany a while back that if you don't have time for homework...then don't do it. I'm interested in following my passions more then going to college to get a good job to make money to have a family. I don't want to live the life that almost every other person like me is going to live, because it seems just so meaningless! Anyway...sorry about the rant, but it's good to see someone else my age interested in this.

ShelterLeopard
11-16-2009, 14:05
Hmm- I do have to say, do well in school, 'cause after the trail, you may want to go to a good college.