PDA

View Full Version : for those who have done many long distance hikes...

punkbohemian
11-17-2009, 17:46
For the sake of brevity, I'm going to try and long-story-short this as best as I can.

Long story short, after I graduated high school, I hiked around the White Mountains with my best friend. It was the greatest experience of my life. But then the summer ended, I had to go to college, and life just kinda happened until about 7-8 years later when I had cancer and had to spend a year in treatment and recovery. Strangely enough, it wasn't the worst experience of my life. That happened for the three years after when I was in a Ph.D. program in the midwest and really couldn't stand it (the Ph.D. program, I mean).

Long story short again, I left the Ph.D. program this past summer, and moved back to New England planning to go into another field entirely. I've rekindled my interest in hiking, and have done quite a few day hikes since I've been back. They've been fun (in a cute-sy, quaint sort of way), but not that kind of challenge for which I'm looking.

That's when I started thinking about distance hikes. I really want to get into it. After that trip to the White Mountains, doing the entire AT found its way on to my bucket list. Now, I'm thinking I'm at a good point in my life to take it on, since I'm kinda in between things. However, I don't want to do just the AT, I'd also like to do another distance trail that lets me try my hand at navigation and orienteering, or just try other long trails just because...

So, one of the things I'm thinking about at this point is the financial aspect. Over the years, I've managed to bank a bit of money. I've been researching long distance hiking (including the financial side), and figure that (if I also sell my car and computer) I can do two to three practice/shorter long distance hikes before taking on the AT, and then do the AT (and possibly one other real long distance hike) before I go completely broke.