PDA

View Full Version : Carrying a handgun on the AT

Pages : [1] 2

Daydream Believer
12-03-2009, 10:26
I did a little research on this before posting, but another discussion on a horse forum about carrying handguns for self protection has me wondering how many AT hikers feel it necessary to carry a handgun while hiking? My impression is that most here do not approve of carrying guns but I thought it would be interesting to see how many do and by gender.

I did some research and there have been like 9 murders through 2008 on the AT. That's not so bad when you figure there are probably 9 murders in one night in New York City.

First off I'm going to state that I am not against anyone's right to own or carry a gun. I am a veteran and I have served in a war...yes, I am also a woman. Not too many of us who can say that but after the last few decades, more and more can.

Anyway, I have carried bear spray on the AT but it never occurred to me to consider carrying a handgun or a concealed handgun. I worry more about the possibility of accidents or accidental shootings than I'd worry about someone assaulting me. Generally I do not hike alone but with my husband. I suppose if I were alone, that might change my thoughts a bit.

Anyway, I'd appreciate a friendly discussion on the topic.

The Weasel
12-03-2009, 10:29
Forgive my lack of modesty, but those interested in the topic might first read that section in my article "Law for Backpackers 101." There is more to the question about "carrying" than just deciding to put a gun in your pack or holster.

TW

Hooch
12-03-2009, 10:30
http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f159/RaulMonkey/Animated/beating-a-dead-horse.gif
http://www.trainfortopdollar.com/trainfortopdollar/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/canofworms1.jpg

DrRichardCranium
12-03-2009, 10:32
I fully support the Second Amendment, but I would not carry a gun on the AT.

whisperingwind
12-03-2009, 10:39