PDA

View Full Version : smoking/dipping on the trail

jbrecon2
12-05-2009, 13:01
As a dislaimer....i know its a horrible habit....please dont judge me. Especially since i'm an icu nurse and see its deadliness every day. However, I have used some form of tobacco since i was 14. Through multiple years in the army, middle east deployments, and years of late night studying in college, and many traumatic experiences it has been the one constant in my life. Cigarettes for many years, but now mostly snuff. When I was on the trail before there were a good number of smokers smoking away. However I would really like to taked this oppurtunity to quit once and for all. At least cigarettes and dip. I'll always have the occassional pipe or cigar. Has anyone else dealt with this? Anone able to quit while hiking? anyone not able to kick the habit despite the added expense and weight?

Its especially ironic becasue i often tell my girlfriend one of the reasons for doing this is i somehow believe this will make me a healthier person for years to come and probally add years to my life. I have already cut back ALOT, but i cringe every time i swipe my card for another 5 bucks to support the habit.

Jim Adams
12-05-2009, 13:18