PDA

View Full Version : Right fit backpack

wicca32
12-20-2009, 17:48
:oHello, my name is Wicca. I am new to long hikes (mostly done day hiking). I'm having a hard time finding a pack that 1. fits properly 2. is big enough 3. has room for tent/bag. I'm only 4'11" tall, most packs I've tried so far are to tall, won't let my head lean back as usual. Ones I've seen online that are for smaller torsos, don't have bag/tent space. Any & all suggestions would be great, thank you. BTW my daughter & I plan to section hike the AT starting 2011.

grayfox
12-20-2009, 21:38
Wicca, I am sure there are lots of folks here ready to chime in with suggestions. We do need more info though. What is your actual torso measurement, ultralight or traditional choices, will you ever hike solo? Do you need a whole kit or just a new pack? What have you tried on so far?

wicca32
12-20-2009, 21:55
Wicca, I am sure there are lots of folks here ready to chime in with suggestions. We do need more info though. What is your actual torso measurement, ultralight or traditional choices, will you ever hike solo? Do you need a whole kit or just a new pack? What have you tried on so far?
Sorry, torso measurement is 18". Hiking with my 19 yr. old daughter. Need everything, lol. I live in rural oklahoma, no outfitters here, Have gone to Bass Pro in OKC, tried on several "woman" packs, all we're to long. Hope this helps.Thanks :confused:

skinewmexico
12-20-2009, 22:22
Wow, that's a long torso measurement. You could use most men's mediums. Anyway.........I'd look at ULA or Gossamer Gear.

grayfox
12-20-2009, 22:43