PDA

View Full Version : Gear List Help

Rhino-Mac
12-22-2009, 12:58
I'm a newbie to long-distance hiking and was hoping you all could help me out with my gear. I was hoping to start a thru-hike next February (probably around the 21st or so). Here's my list, any suggestions or critiques are welcome and appreciated.

Camp:
Tent: Six Moons Designs Wild Oasis
Sleeping Bag: ALPS Mountaineering Navajo 20F (owned)
Sleeping Pad: Therm-a-Rest Ridge Rest 3/4 Length
Ground Sheet: Plastic Sheet (owned)

Clothing:
For hiking:
Baselayer Bottom: Polyester boxers (owned)
Baselayer Top: Polyester Muscle Shirt (owned)
Pants: Campmor Men's Convertible 100% Nylon Pants (owned)
Shirt: Campmor Men's Travel Long-Sleeve Shirt (owned)
Raingear Bottom:
Raingear Top: Jacket (owned - no hood)
Hat: Ballcap (owned)
Socks:
Sock Liner: Dress Socks (owned)
Footwear: Running Shoes (owned)
Trekking Poles:
Watch: Sports Watch (owned)

For camping:
Baselayer Bottom: Polyester Pants (owned)
Baselayer Top: Polyester Long-Sleeve Shirt (owned)
Shirt: Acrylic Sweater (owned)
Insulation: Pull-Over Fleece (owned)
Hat: Acrylic/Nylon Tuque (owned)
Gloves:
Socks:
Sock Liner: Dress Socks

Packs:
Backpack: GoLite Jam2
Hiking Clothing Stuff Sack:
Camping Clothing Stuff Sack:
Food/Bear Bag Stuff Sack:
Rock Sack (PCT Method):

Water/Food:
Water Treatment: MSR SweetWater Purifier System
Water Bottle: Gatorade Bottle (2?)
Stove: Homemade Alcohol Stove (partially assembled)
Fuel Bottle: Plastic Bottle (probably owned)
Pot: Can of some kind (probably owned)
Utensils: Spoon (owned)

Other:
Maps: Whole Trail
Compass:
Guidebook(s): Have 2009 Companion and 2009 Data Book
Headlamp: Princeton Tec Fuel (owned)
Journal:
Camera: Olympus FE-230 (owned)
Camera Mini Tripod: Mini Flexible Tripod (owned)
Toiletries: Toothbrush, Toothpaste, etc.
First Aid Kit:
Cord:
Towel:

Thanks!

ShelterLeopard
12-22-2009, 13:06
Feb of this coming year?