PDA

View Full Version : Last section hike before the Big One.

coheterojo
12-22-2009, 19:44
A couple of friends and I have been doing after-Xmas section hikes since 2004. Last year we did Davenport Gap to Sam's Gap, NC. We're are picking up where we left off last year and hiking 97.5 miles N to Dennis Cove.

I'm parking my car at Dennis Cove and Bob Peoples, of Kincora Hikers Hostel, is shuttling us down to Sam's Gap under I-26. We are starting on Sat. 12/26 and finishing 8 days later on Jan. 2nd, 2010.

We're gonna be covering all the balds and the last spot over 6000 ft until Mt. Washington in the Whites of NH. To say I'm excited would be a bit of an understatement.

It appears we may see a little more Winter than usual this time. It's all good. Plus it's gonna be cool as heck seeing all this territory again around mid-May on my thru.:D

Erin
12-22-2009, 23:54
Please post about your hike when you get back. That sounds like a great way to spend that week between Christmas and NYD. When I was young, my brothers went off and did this because it was their college break. I was so jealous! Have a wonderful time.

takethisbread
12-23-2009, 07:26
Sounds llike a blast!

JoshStover
12-23-2009, 07:29
Im jealous. I would love to be doing that section next week. You will have a blast. Please let us know how your trip went as soon as you return! Have fun and be safe!!! Oh yea, take LOTS of pictures. I know it is going to be B-E-A-utiful!!!!!!

coheterojo
12-23-2009, 19:59
It looks like we'll be spending New Year's Eve camped at Doll Flats. That beats watching the ball drop on the boob tube by about a million percent.

coheterojo
01-01-2010, 00:18
The three of us went in as planned at Sam's Gap at 11:30ish on Sat 12/26. Dropped the car off at Kincora and Bob Peoples shuttled us to our starting point. It was only 7.6 miles to our destination for the night, Bald Mtn Shelter. No big deal with 6 hrs of daylight left, right? Hah!