PDA

View Full Version : Sleeping Bag Quality

MAGafee
12-27-2009, 18:29
Will a cheaper sleeper bag rated to 0 degrees, do just about as good as an expensive one rated to 0 degrees? I have a zero degree bag from Field and Stream that cost 50 dollars. Will that be sufficient for a mid March start from Springer? Thanks!

bigcranky
12-27-2009, 18:37
Will a cheaper sleeper bag rated to 0 degrees, do just about as good as an expensive one rated to 0 degrees?

Not really. Temperature ratings are notoriously fuzzy with the less expensive bags. But it'll probably be fine. The common downsides to low cost bags are weight and bulk, which might be more of an issue. You can always start with it and replace it up the trail if you want.

Tinker
12-27-2009, 18:51
Well if you have a back yard and a sleeping pad it should be easy enough to find out, no?
Wait until the temperature gets down to near zero and try the bag out in the back yard. Keep in mind that if you are wet, tired, hungry or dehydrated you will not sleep nearly as warm as you do at home with your customary diet, etc.

Pacific Tortuga
12-27-2009, 19:11
:welcome

There are no set regulations on bag temp ratings so any company can say what they want.
Most the time you get exactly what you pay for, you might score a good used one here or ?
The price also dictates the quality of the shell which is just as important as the temp and fill to me.

white_russian
12-27-2009, 19:22
The only sleeping bag ratings you can be sure of are those rated with EN13537. It is really the only standard out there and with ones sold in America I think Marmot is the only company that does it. There are companies out there that make them true to rating and those who don't so you really have to do your research sometimes.

Tipi Walter
12-27-2009, 19:26
I'd go with Tinker's idea of the backyard camp. It's the tried and true taste test when it comes to winter sleeping.

ChinMusic
12-27-2009, 19:31