PDA

View Full Version : any SLR users out there?

gruntledpainter
12-28-2009, 01:57
I am an avid photographer and will definitely will be bringing a camera on my 2010 thru-hike. I'm a rookie to the AT or for any hike longer than a few days. I hear that mostly, people bring small point and shoot digitals, but I love my SLR and imagine the AT to be one of the best locations/experiences for me to shoot.

Does anyone have advice/experience on bringing DSLRs on a thru-hike? The camera fully loaded with batteries is about 1.5 lbs. Also I am wondering about moisture/dirt/other things being a danger to the camera.

Thanks for the advice! I'm looking forward to the walk.

Sir-Packs-Alot
12-28-2009, 05:48
I am an avid photographer and will definitely will be bringing a camera on my 2010 thru-hike. I'm a rookie to the AT or for any hike longer than a few days. I hear that mostly, people bring small point and shoot digitals, but I love my SLR and imagine the AT to be one of the best locations/experiences for me to shoot.

Does anyone have advice/experience on bringing DSLRs on a thru-hike? The camera fully loaded with batteries is about 1.5 lbs. Also I am wondering about moisture/dirt/other things being a danger to the camera.