PDA

View Full Version : General Thru-Hike Question

Raul Perez
01-03-2010, 11:56
I noticed there are a lot of people here who have thru hiked or are preparing to thru hike. Personally I would LOVE to thru hike but being a CPA my work keeps me busy year round. Plus I would NOT have a job when I returned if I took off more than 3 weeks at a time.

Just wondering what kind of jobs do the thru-hikers have to allow them to hike 3 months or longer and still come back to a job.

bigcranky
01-03-2010, 12:18
Many hikers are at a transition point -- post college, post military, post retirement, divorce, etc.

If you have a lot of responsibilities (mortgage, kid in college, etc.), then it's tough to thru-hike. That's my current situation.

If not, if all you have is a job, then you have to decide for yourself. There are very few "secure jobs" anymore. Quit. Hike. Get another job when you get back. A good CPA is always employable.

Lilred
01-03-2010, 12:20
I teach, so I have my summers free to hike

Spirit Walker
01-03-2010, 12:25
I quit my jobs and started over each time. I worked retail and then was an administrative assistant. My husband was an astrospace engineer. He also just quit each time and started over again afterwards. Not always easy. It's a good idea to have a cushion of savings if that's what you're going to do as it may take a while to get a new job after your hike.

Raul Perez
01-03-2010, 14:29
Well I do have a family, rent, car payments, etc.

I might have to just be content with section hiking for the time being.

Quitting my job right now is not an option as I am the primary bread winner since my significant other cant seem to get a job due to the economy.

rickb
01-03-2010, 14:31

Quitting my job right now is not an option as I am the primary bread winner since my significant other cant seem to get a job due to the economy.

How about working 100 hours a week during tax season. Then start your hike in May.

Raul Perez
01-03-2010, 14:43