PDA

View Full Version : Flower, Plant and Bird Reading Recs

01-05-2010, 15:11
I'm interested in learning about some of the plants, flowers, and birds I'll come across during my upcoming hike. Any good text recommendations for use on the trail? Ideally I'm looking for a balance between content and size/weight since I'm considering packing this text with me. Thanks!

Dogwood
01-05-2010, 16:11
Good for you Avatar. When I get out of that gotta go go go have to be somewhere else speed/miles are king mindset that thru-hikers often adopt I really enjoy slowing down and adding to the scope of my hikes by doing exactly what you are planning. That's why some will tell you that they don't or you will not have the time to read while on a hike! They never learn to slow down, decompress, and have a deep desire to learn about the environment in which they are traveling.

I'm a landscape designer and horticulturalist with a specific interest in wildflowers. On the AT I sometimes carried 3 small handbooks just on this subject. I'm an UL hiker but I didn't regret it. If you are fortunate to by on the AT on a thru-hike the variety and masses of wildflowers you will experience are simply amazing! The same can be said for other plants, trees , birds, and wildlife. Smokey Mountains NP alone, has been described as one of the most biodiverse areas of the world, containing a vast array of both flora and fauna!