PDA

View Full Version : Georgia Section

dev
01-05-2010, 15:57
howdy all.

i was wondering if someone could give me some tips on the Georgia Section of the AT. thinking about going in early to mid May.

i'm a fairly experienced camper, but have never hiked/camped over three days straight. i'd love to get some tips and advice from folks in an area in which i have little experience. one of the things i love most about camping is the little trade secrets that are exchanged. things so simple, but you never seem to think of.

one of my main concerns is water. i.e., how much to carry, where to get it, and any purification aides. also, i've heard people seem to overpack on food. what would be a good amount to carry?

please, take pitty on the noob.

thanks in advance.

Longbow
01-05-2010, 16:50
I just hiked 49 miles from Unicoi Gap to springer Mtn. Hogpen Gap to Woody Gap would give you a nice 3 day 17 mile hike. You will have plenty of Views on the mountain tops in this area. Water is Plentiful in this area. I typical carry 2 litters of water max. Any more is a waist and extra weight. You could easily get by with one litter. I use tablets for purification or nothing at all. don't waist your money on Nalgene bottles either, just get a couple of 1 litter Aquafina bottles. The large mouth makes them easy to refill and they are lighter weight.