PDA

View Full Version : Florida Newbie Here

bus
01-05-2010, 19:34
Hello

A Florida Newbie here saying ''Hi!''. More like a Florida At Wanna Be. I hope to hike a a few sections this Summer and early Fall. Not sure where yet, but somewhere in NC/TN area...

Any of you guys from East Central Florida?

moytoy
01-05-2010, 19:55
I live in Titusville and work in Ocala. I was born and raised in Maryville Tn so the AT is my playground. I have done a lot of hiking on the FT. I am new to this forum also so I don't really know any of the other central FL members but there are a few who post here. Welcome to the forum!

jnanagardener
01-05-2010, 20:53
Hey Florida people! I live in Palm Harbor, in west central Florida (Pinellas County) north of Clearwater. There are lots of great hikes in that section. We just hiked from Carver's Gap over the balds (Round Bald, Jane Bald, Grassy Ridge), then further north. Pretty amazing. Good luck on your search and keep us posted.

GooseMan
01-05-2010, 21:42
OBUSO,

I am from Melbourne and did my first hike in November from Springer to Dick's Creek Gap. It was awesome and I am ready to continue from there (Trip Report (http://whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=56282)). I hope to go from DCG to NOC sometime late summer. Maybe we can meet up for that hike.

bus
01-05-2010, 22:01
GooseMan, you are just across the river from me. Do yu go to the local Florida Trail meetings?

Brandt, the wife and I were up in NC during Christmas. We drove up to Carvers Gap parked and hiked up to the top of the hill on the right side of the road ( across from the Carvers Gap sign). Do you know what Mountain or Bald that one is?

jnanagardener
01-05-2010, 23:01