PDA

View Full Version : 4.5 lb. pack vs. 6.5 lb pack. Do 2lbs matter to you?

AeroGuyDC
01-06-2010, 10:44
I've been hiking on and off for 25 years, mostly with an external pack on weekend overnighters.

I've recently gotten serious about hiking the AT in sections, and will be buying an internal frame pack in the near future. I've tried on many different packs so far, and all of them have their pros and cons.

But when it comes down to it, weight seems to be the biggest difference. Obviously, the more durable and "deluxe" the suspension system, the heavier the pack.

As such, I have been comparing several packs of roughly the same cubes and features, but the weight range varies by about two pounds. So far, packs with thicker hip belts have been the most comfortable, but also the heaviest.

Do these two extra pounds really matter to you in the grand scheme? I understand that ultralight hikers will certainly have an opinion on this, but what about those regular hikers who value a good compromise between weight and comfort?

bigcranky
01-06-2010, 10:49
Two pounds of Snickers bars vs two pounds of pack weight. Your choice.

Seriously, two pounds does make a difference that I can feel on my back over the long haul.

cheeks
01-06-2010, 10:52
The heaviest pack you should probably consider carrying on the AT these days is the 4.5 pound one.

6.5 pounds is pretty insane these days.

Spokes
01-06-2010, 10:55
Amazing how much 2 lbs increases the cuss factor on the trail. That definitely falls under the bad weight category.

sparky2000
01-06-2010, 10:59
Keep your section hikes on the flat planes and the two lbs. won't matter much.

fredmugs
01-06-2010, 11:02
My two cents is pack fit is more important. I own 3 packs: a 15 ounce Go Lite, a 4.5 pound military pack, and (maybe) a 2.5 pound pack I bought at Sams Club.

The GoLite pack is designed to hold 25 pounds but it has no waist/hip support. When I had 22 pounds in it the middle of my pack was killing me.