PDA

View Full Version : Beginner looking for some advice

Rabbott
01-08-2010, 22:42
Hi!
I am new to the whole backpacking scene. I've done some pretty advanced day hikes with my family but I don't have the technical experience for backpacking. I want to go on a trip this summer, and I am thinking about doing one of the trips offered by the AMC. The only problem is that I'm too old for about half the trips (I'm 16.) I have a few questions (and I welcome the answers of anybody who has done an AMC trip or who just has advice!)

1. Should I go on a longer trip, to let my body adjust to the stress backpacking? Or is it better to try a short trip first, and see how I like it?

2. Should I try a trip specifically for beginners?

3. Should I a "multi element" trip; ie one with canoeing or kayaking or rock climbing in addition to backpacking?

Thank you very much!!
-Rabbott

Many Walks
01-08-2010, 23:29
Welcome to WB Rabbott! :welcome It might be wise to go on a shorter organized trip like the ones the AMC offers that you would still be qualified for or by another supervised group with experienced leaders. This would give you some experience to build on to make adjustments for your next outing. You might talk with them about the options to see if a beginners trip is right for you or if a more intermediate trip is more to your liking due to your day hiking experience. At this point I would advise just doing a hiking trip as opposed to a multi element trip which involves more equipment and skills. The bottom line is to do what you think is right for you based on your interest and skill level. Most of all, Enjoy!

sbhikes
01-08-2010, 23:32
I got started backpacking with my church youth group. I'm not trying to preach, but if you have a youth group, you might see if there's someone who would be willing to lead a trip.

Snowleopard
01-09-2010, 10:05