PDA

View Full Version : Is this good enough...?

slamajama
09-14-2004, 17:36
Hey all, what do we look for when reading this...?
Whats bad? ...whats good?

Key Features

Sleeps 2 adults
Dimensions: 7' L x 5' W x 4' H
Weighs 6 pounds, 4 ounces
2 large clear-view side windows
1 D-shaped door for easy entry and exit
Ring and pin corner attachments
Clip set-up with color coded tabs
68-denier polyester mesh windows, roof vent and "breathable" 70-denier nylon fabric for superior air flow
Sealed fly seam and welded door seam keep water out
Includes a mud mat and detachable gear loft
7.9 mm, shock-corded fiberglass frame
Heavy-duty, polyethylene rip-stop floor
75-denier polyester taffeta fly with 800 mm polyurethane coating
70-denier nylon taffeta walls with 800 mm polyurethane coating

Moose2001
09-14-2004, 17:43
UGH....Weighs 6 pounds, 4 ounces :mad:

kevin
09-14-2004, 18:46
I'm not a tent expert, but what I'd look at is

A) Weight -- I went with a heavy tent at 5 pounds (Sierra Hyperlight AST) and thought it was worth the weight (although usually about 2/3rds of the way through the day I'd start having second thoughts). You're adding another pound (and with less floor space).

B) Size -- The reason I carried a heavier tent is I wanted more room. I'm a bigger guy (6'4" and around 230). A lot of lighter tents either meant sitting up was a challenge or laying down I'd be virtually touching the tent at both ends.

C) Easy to set up -- After hiking all day, I wanted something that went up easy. The one downside I found to my tent was that setting up in a downpour with a double-wall tent makes it pretty tricky not to have a fair amount of water in your tent by the time your rainfly is on.

While I was happy with my tent most of the time, I definitely can see the argument for those pushing lightweight tarps.

max patch
09-14-2004, 19:58