PDA

View Full Version : Planning to begin section hiking the AT - how am I doing so far?

Matty427
01-19-2010, 21:26
This year I've decided to start Section Hiking the AT. I grew up in PA very near the trail and spend some time day hiking different parts of it and other trails nearby. That was before college and career came and I haven't been on a real trail in about 8 years (except in my Jeep). Living in North Carolina now and missing the woods.

I'm a teacher, so every summer I plan to take 3 weeks or so out and start knocking out as many miles as I can until next summer. I've never done overnight hiking, but feel comfortable with the idea (and excited)

I'm going to be leaving in early June and hoping to start at the Southern Terminus and working up as far as I can go. I'm looking for advice as to what I should be planning etc...

Currently I'm making a list of what gear I'm going to need. Researching packs and I've narrowed it down to one or two that I'm happy with and will be purchasing that first. I know a lot of people are of the mind that I should buy a pack based on my gear, but right now, I don't have any gear. I'm looking at the Osprey Aether 70 to start with. I've got other gear picked out and will start picking things up soon (waiting on that tax return and the new home buyer tax credit)

What comes next though? I'm going through my AT Thru-Hiker Companion and starting to work out an itinerary for what shelters I'll be staying at, mail drops etc...

Is there anything else I should be considering at this point in the game? I don't want it to be May and I'm just realizing everything else I've been neglecting.

Thanks for the input! Looking forward to becoming a part of the White Blaze Community!

Hooch
01-19-2010, 21:45
Matty, welcome back to the hiking world. Looks like those summers off will serve you well to get a good hike in every year. Get your miles in when you can. I'm a nurse and work 3 days a week, so I go when I can, as often as I can.