PDA

View Full Version : Happy Feet!

Tuney
01-20-2010, 21:03
When we're hiking 2,179.2 miles, we really want Happy Feet. So I thought I'd share with you what's making my feet happy.

I did a lot of experimenting during the summer and fall, and I ended up with trail running shoes instead of my Vasque Breeze Boots (which I really like BTW).
I have the Salomon XA Pro 3D Ultra GTX Shoes with the Dr School custom fit orthotic insoles (maybe you've been seeing them advertised on TV) I wear them with Smartwool medium cushion socks, and Cool Max Liners.

I've been hiking in this combination now for almost 6 months. They are so good I wear them for almost everything except Dress Up occasions. I'm happy to report I have had no blisters, foot, ankle, knee or leg problems. The worst I've experienced after hiking several miles on fairly aggressive trails is some muscle soreness like you have after a day doing hard physical labor. That's usually gone by the next morning.

I have really happy feet. Looking forward to starting SOBO at the beginning of June

Phreak
01-20-2010, 21:20
Great shoes! I wear these as well with custom inserts.

moytoy
01-20-2010, 21:20
Sooo. What your saying is, that you skip across kennesaw Mtn. now?
Good deal I may try a pair!

Moxcey
01-20-2010, 22:29
I've been wearing a pair of Salomon XT Wings lately for hiking, which look very similar to your pair (according to the images on Google Shopping results), and are by far the best pair of footwear I've ever had the pleasure of walking in.

Tuney
01-20-2010, 23:13
Sooo. What your saying is, that you skip across kennesaw Mtn. now?
Good deal I may try a pair!

Haven't taken up skipping yet. I'm training with 35 - 40 LBS in my pack. :D

moytoy
01-20-2010, 23:19
Haven't taken up skipping yet. I'm training with 35 - 40 LBS in my pack. :D

Yep... I've been following your TJ for some time now. Good luck to ya.

Blissful
01-20-2010, 23:29
socks, socks, socks. And good ones. Don't skimp

and decent insoles.

Tuney