PDA

View Full Version : Thru-hike on 2,500 dollars or less?

JerTheAraluan
01-21-2010, 02:24
Hey. Total newbie here planning a thru-hike in 2011.

...On a limited budget.

I realize I may sound like someone underestimating his needs here, but I generally consist easily on little food. I'm vegetarian. That automatically limits how much I can feast in towns. I plan on spending overnight in towns very rarely, as rarely as possible in fact.

Do you think that I will be able to go from Springer to Katahdin on, at most, 2,500 dollars EXCLUDING transportation, and without being some kind of superman? Just reasonably staying away from town-binging?

Preferably, even on 2,000 dollars?

Will it require all kinds of stealth camping wherever possible, or are most shelters/campsites free or very cheap? I really want the food to be almost the only significant cost.

My basic plan on food right now is a colossal dependency on oatmeal/hot wheat/grits (I LOVE that stuff anyway), ramen crap, fruits and vegetables wherever I can get em in towns, and all kinds of high calorie stuff like pb&j with bread, nuts and dried fruit, etc.

As a bonus question on that point, I'm planning on like... zero maildrops at the moment. Is this normal, possible, and budget-smart?

Thanx muchness!

JerTheAraluan
01-21-2010, 02:28
Oh yeah, I also forgot to mention I'm EXCLUDING gear from this figure also. I'm basically asking about strictly living costs once ON THE TRAIL. :) Thanx.

TheTank
01-21-2010, 02:36
Your plan seems about right to me. In fact maybe over estimating the cost.

I hiked for about $2,000 and I did stay is town a few times, and ate in town more often. A trail life style is very in-expensive. If you are careful, you can make your only expenditures food. Almost all the shelters and camp sites are free, a few exceptions in Vermont and Maine and a lot of exceptions in the White Mountains, but even those are a moderate expenditure compared to your overall budget.