PDA

View Full Version : Worth the extra weight?

johnson_sb
01-26-2010, 19:24
First, let me say I'm new to backpacking. I'm planning a trip with an experienced backpacking friend for 3 days / 2 nights (25-30 miles) in a few weeks.

I have a brand new Alps Mountaineering Zephyr 2 tent (2-man) which weighs 4lbs-15.25 oz. Not terribly heavy for a 2-man.

I also have a borrowed (condition somewhat unknown at this point) 1-man tent available to me which weighs 4lbs-3.75 oz.

My question is, if I take my tent will I regret carrying the extra weight? I'd like to take it, but would like some objective opinions first.

leaftye
01-26-2010, 19:51
Take your 2-man tent and split the weight.

JustaTouron
01-26-2010, 19:53
I would discuss it with your experienced friend.....but odds are if you are hiking with a friend the lighest option is one of you take a two person tent and the other something else (stove/cook kit) instead of each of you taking a one person tent and own stove etc.

johnnybgood
01-26-2010, 20:04
Not knowing how tall you are I'd pitch both tents up in the back yard Steven and then see if that 1 man is big enough , lengthwise and also offers abundant headroom for you.

I personally would go with what works best for you and not worry about the 11.5 added ounces for this trip .

For longer trips in the future if your concerned about the weight then go with a lighter tent .

Blissful
01-26-2010, 20:06
I'd buy a 2 man Tarptent at a little over 2lbs weight. 2 plus lbs off your back feels like heaven and makes A lOT of difference hiking and makes it more enjoyable. :) Now if you both are going to be in the two man tent, then that works, you can split the weight.

Pacific Tortuga
01-26-2010, 20:14
Yes, set it up and seam seal it your self. Let it air out and like others have said, check it out and see if it fits your needs.
About 10 miles a day, it'll seem heavy, but they always do on that first day. Hope you have a great time.

jrwiesz
01-26-2010, 20:31