PDA

View Full Version : New Section Hiker! Looking For Imput From the Pros.

MBaker
02-01-2010, 00:07
I've been researching an AT hike of sorts for several years. My recent employment status has made a dream hike a reality.

I have four weeks or so to be on the trail for a section hike on the AT. I'm planning on an early start, March 2nd/3rd and finishing around April 1st. Getting to the trail should be relatively easy given the numerous options available from Atlanta. My main concern is where to get off the trail and how. I assume that I will end up somewhere between Gatlinburg, and Damascus. I'm leaving the door wide open to limit restrictions on my hike.

What advice would the experienced hikers offer for both transportation and in general for a newbie section hiker?

MBaker
02-01-2010, 00:09
Forgot to add that I would like to end up in Washington DC around April 1st.

waywardfool
02-01-2010, 10:05
No pros here at WB, just a bunch of opinionated asshats. :D

if you start at Springer, you'll bee in the midst of the flood of thru-hikers starting out Fun for some, crowded for others. Might be good for you for learning and sharing. I'd jump ahead, maybe put in at Fontana, or Hot Springs, maybe further north and have more solitude.

sparky2000
02-01-2010, 10:35
Hot Springs and Erwin have been shuttling to air or bus. If u don.t mind road walking, then any road off the trail will take u to a town, ect. After that it's most likely that hiking with a backpack will give u suprising quick help from pick-up trucks blue collar boys to a bus, train, car rental, u-haul rental(the easiest to find for one-way). When hiking the world really belongs to u!

fiddlehead
02-01-2010, 10:57
I wouldn't try to make too many plans.
You have a month.
Go for it and more than likely, you will meet someone that is getting a ride to somewhere that you can tag along till you get to a bus stop.
Trying to plan it out now will limit your trip to a schedule that you might not want to stick with.