PDA

View Full Version : Water...cool cool clean water?

sojo
02-01-2010, 18:33
I've been using a Sweetwater filter for several years...it's ok but I think I can do better?? What kind of advice is out there other than using a "heavy" filter? Sojo

climber2377
02-01-2010, 19:05
i have the katadyn hiker water filter and i like it. some people say that you have to be careful that it doesnt freeze up on you... i am not an expert on the subject... but i like the fact that you can pump and drink right away, no waiting for drops to work and all that. i think the flavor is better. i ve tried a few other methods of water purification. although filter are heavier, i feel they are worth the weight.

sojo
02-01-2010, 22:07
Thanks Climber, have you ever used the polarpure "drops"? I understand that there is an iodine after-taste and am wondering what different ways there are to reduce that?

Praha4
02-01-2010, 22:11
if you are worried about long term drinking of iodine treated water, try Aquamira, chlorine dioxide drops.

both filters you mentioned are good, I use the MSR Miniworks-EX, but those others are good ones too

Deadeye
02-01-2010, 22:54
I use Aqua Mira drops for quantity and an Aqua Mira squeeze filter bottle (link below) for convenience. I get the best of both worlds. I can treat a volume of water if I want, or I can fill my bottle from a stream and drink on the spot. Lightweight, inexpensive, and both the drops and replacement filters are readily available. YMMV

http://aquamira.com/consumer/aquamira-water-bottle-and-filter/

Hatfield
02-02-2010, 15:37
Chilly water

SurferNerd
02-02-2010, 15:47