PDA

View Full Version : A Question About Hiking Shelters

DanM
02-08-2010, 20:24
Hello, I am an Industrial Design student currently working on a new hiking shelter/information system for my senior thesis.

I'd like to ask this community how they feel about technology and hiking?

Aside from a GPS what other tech. do you bring?

How do you feel about bringing a social networking environment into the hiking world via "Smart Shelters"?

What would you recommend to improve traditional hiking shelters?

Or am I missing a point? Is the point to go back to nature and not have any tech. around you?

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.
Thank You

emerald
02-08-2010, 20:27
How do you feel about bringing a social networking environment into the hiking world via "Smart Shelters"?

The point of the Appalachian Trail is to provide a means of connecting with the natural world. A.T. visitors are in some cases expected or encouraged to leave technological conveniences at home or at least to use them in a manner that doesn't impact upon other visitors.

You might modify your thesis to focus upon how communications might be improved with unintrusive personal devices or at facilities targeting hikers in towns.

paradoxb3
02-08-2010, 20:29

Tell'em Wolf... LOL

gruntledpainter
02-08-2010, 20:31
Hello, I am an Industrial Design student currently working on a new hiking shelter/information system for my senior thesis.

Or am I missing a point? Is the point to go back to nature and not have any tech. around you?

Thank You

I'd say the more primitive the better, aside from having decent water sources (and nearby resupply points if doing a long distance hike). I think social networking has its place, and I'm not sure that place is in hiking/camping.

The one question you probably want to address is: why? would it be a business venture somehow? help communication for safety's sake?