PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for a Section Hike in late spring

Heavy G
02-12-2010, 10:29
I am a sort-of beginner hiker. Lonngest hikes have been on the flat Batona Trial in the NJ Pinelands. I have hiked up Mt. Tammany, 1.5 miles 1700ft., and that was about the upper boundary of my endurance. I have hiked the AT in the Delaware Water Gap from Rt. 80 parking lot to Sunfish Pond and several of the other side trails. I was wondering if anyone had suggestions for a week long section hike. Vistas are very desirable! Thanks.

Helios
02-12-2010, 10:57
The Shenandoah's come to mind. Lot's of vistas, well graded trail, several waysides to resupply at, 101 miles end to end on the AT (Waynesboro to Front Royal - NOBO).

flemdawg1
02-12-2010, 11:09
Why not try an overnighter or weekender first? A week long section is alot for someone who hasn't really hiked much.

But if you insist on a week. Shenandoah NP is soemwhat level walking with lots of vistas, campgrounds, and stores to stop in if you need to get off the trail.

10-K
02-12-2010, 11:21
Why not try an overnighter or weekender first? A week long section is alot for someone who hasn't really hiked much.

But if you insist on a week. Shenandoah NP is soemwhat level walking with lots of vistas, campgrounds, and stores to stop in if you need to get off the trail.

I don't disagree but why does everyone say that SNP is so easy?

I hiked it SOBO from Harper's Ferry and I was looking for easy all the way to Rockfish Gap. :)

Heavy G
02-12-2010, 11:57
flemdawg1-- Great suggestion. That is why I am looking at late spring. Between now and then I plan on doing a few overnighters. On my long hikes, I have carried everything, tent, food, hydration, cooking, clothes, ect... I dont have a sleeping bag or pad yet, once again the size thing is coming into play there! But the search is on and am certainly open to suggestions there too! Thanks

Kerosene
02-12-2010, 12:06