PDA

View Full Version : Need sleeping bag advice

Cakon
02-14-2010, 23:53
I decided I need a warmer bag for my thru. I have a 10 year old 20 degree bag that has lost some of its rating. I am leaving next week so I need to decide ASAP. I have $300 for the purchase. I am looking at an REI halo 10, MontBell spiral hugger 15. I also found a RAB quantum 600 with 850 fill for $239 on campsaver but I have never heard of this brand. I know I'll have to kick in for fast shipping but its better than freezing to death. I also found the spiral hugger 1 zero degree for $311 on backcountrygear.com. I am a cold sleeper and the thought of not being cold is great. I can switch to my 20 degree once it warms up so this is just for the cold of a late February start.

Let er rip lets see what everyone comes up with. Thanks.

Cool AT Breeze
02-14-2010, 23:57
A friend of mine has a RAB jacket. He likes it and it seems like good quality.

Tinker
02-15-2010, 00:28
In the past most REI bags have been a trim fit (makes the specs look better - less fill, less fabric, less weight for temp. range). Maybe they've changed things in the past 5-6 years or so. Their gear is usually very well made, but not up to the top of the line cottage industries (Feathered Friends, Western Mountaineering in the sleeping bag category).
If you are tall and relatively slim, I have a Feathered Friends Great Auk overbag (2 oz. overfill), size long that I might part with. Wearing a light jacket and fleece pants in it I've been comfortable down to +5 degrees. It has 750 fill down, weighs 2.5 lbs. and has a pad pocket in the bottom (no insulation). Excellent condition. It's pretty much a rectangular bag designed to put over another bag (or wear a down parka in).
orig. cost was $360. I figure it's worth $250. The inside dimensions are 60"/60"60" and it was designed to take a Thermarest 20" wide x 1.5" pad (long or short).

Cakon
02-15-2010, 00:33