PDA

View Full Version : Looking for lightweight hikers/trail runners

falcosky
02-17-2010, 13:30
I'm hiking the southern half starting March 1st. Any good ideas for a pair of lightweight hikers or trail runners. I think I'd prefer goretex and under 100$. Thanks!

Rick Hancock
02-18-2010, 19:37
I'd think long and hard about the Goretex. Most brands are over $100 although you can find deals. If it were me (and I've been wearing Trail Runners exclusively) for the past 7 years or more I'd go with a nylon shoe. Gortex is a great product but dirt and grime break the membrane down. Your walking in dirt, your socks are dirty, as are your feet. Once wet it takes longer to dry, and often they take longer to break-in, also they seem to fit tighter than a similar non gore tex model. A nylon shoe with maybe some suede panels for support will generally fit right out of the box, and give you pretty good support and comfort over a days travel. If your planning to use custom supports or thicker socks allow for the extra room. Elsewhere in another forum I suggested finding an online store that has free shipping both ways,order your size plus another pair 1/2 to 1 size larger to get a perfect fit, seems like a hassle but most hike shops only carry a few brands. If you find a shoe you really like I'd buy several pairs companies change the style every few years and most of the improvements downgrade the shoe. It happened to me with the Montrail Hardrock! A few good sources are onlineshoes.com, joesnewbalance.com, bootbay.com
Good Luck

Tinker
02-18-2010, 21:36
I second the non-Gore-tex shoe. When it rains your feet will get wet, no matter what you wear. A low shoe, especially, is susceptible to overwash, (when you step in a puddle and it goes over the top). If (when) that happens, Gore-tex will only slow the speed at which the inner part of the shoe dries as air and wind cannot pass through it as readily as an open nylon mesh.