PDA

View Full Version : Against All Odds...

Mom Lamb
11-01-2002, 09:22
Hello,

I am planning a 2004 Thru-hike with my 13 year-old daughter, a recovered Autistic (NOT retarded. It's similar to ADHD). I've never done anything like this--well, I grew up on a farm and did a lot of hiking--but that was YEARS ago. My hubby can't make the hike with us--can't get the time off from work, so it would be just the two of us. Hubby says we CAN"T hike alone (I wouldn't want to). I am hoping to find some hiking companions.

I am a short 4' 11'', 42 year old female with fibromyalgia, 25-30 pounds overweight and very out of shape due to a sedentary lifestyle (which I'm heartily sick of, BTW, it's not how I grew up). I've have had both feet operated on for problems stemming from high arches and I have a lower back and cervical disk bulges from a car accident (Can't carry heavy loads). I am a nurse--an LPN and have had some experience in camping and hiking, spent a lot of time in the woods. I am a nurse (LPN), so have first aid knowledge.

My daughter, on the other hand is 5' 7'', all muscle and energy, loves hiking and camping and is gung-ho to make this trip. She will be 15 by the time we attempt it. Her big challenge is her diet--she cannot have any form of gluten (wheat, rye, barley, oats) or milk products (icluding casein and whey).

We'd have to prepare and drop-ship most of our food, due to her diet needs, but other than that, have no serious health problems like Diabetes, heart or lung issues.

I'm carefully reading and researching this and I know it is not without its challenges. But we plan to train for the hike and prepare well. I point out to my family that people in their 70's have successfully made the hike. I do not want to so section-hikes, I want the experience and challenge of the Thru-hike.