PDA

View Full Version : The ultimate poncho?

TDale
09-29-2004, 16:35
Anyone used the Exped Bivy-Poncho and Liner? Poncho, bivy, sleeping bag, and shelter all in one.

http://www.altrec.com/shop/detail/13324/EXP
http://www.altrec.com/shop/detail/13325/EXP

Of course, you can only use it for one thing at a time.

tlbj6142
09-29-2004, 20:45
You don't want a bivy that isn't made of a breathable material. It will turn into a condensation machine.

Now, a poncho/tarp or poncho/ground cloth isn't a bad combo assuming you don't expect a whole lot of wind when it rains.

Lilred
09-29-2004, 21:33
I'd hate to have only that when a big storm blew in. Check out Six Moon Designs new tarp-tent.

www.sixmoondesigns.com

I ordered one last week. I'll post about it when it arrives.

TDale
09-29-2004, 21:50
I've been studying the lunar solo for a few months now. Great design!

The exped interests me just because of the multi-use aspect.

peter_pan
09-30-2004, 07:39
Tdale
If you like this approach campmor has the same thing made of silnyl . There are to models, reg and an extra long with a velcro fold up bottom rear for non pack use. they wgt 8.5 and 11 oz respectively and cost about $44 and $54 each. save wgt and $.

SalParadise
10-01-2004, 18:23
I have a similar one to what Peter_Pan is describing, from HikeLite I believe. It ran $40 and I got it in a regular sporting goods store.
I haven't used it on a hike yet, but I don't know how the thing could be long enough to work as a full-length tarp, so I'm still taking a waterproof bivvy with it to cover my legs.

Pencil Pusher
10-01-2004, 23:31
This combo mentioned reminded me of the army. They have a similar setup so you could probably get it much cheaper at the surplus store. The condensation is a tradeoff with the weight. You'll still be warm, just 'damp'.

peter_pan
10-02-2004, 00:29
Salparadise,