PDA

View Full Version : Keeping your Sleeping bag dry ?

Loneoak
03-03-2010, 02:47
I see a lot of folks using different bags but no one has really said the best way to keep one 100% dry.
I'm new to back packing and am trying to learn from others mistakes, I make enough mistakes on my own :)

thx

River Runner
03-03-2010, 03:08
The best way to keep it 100% dry is to leave it at home, stored in a dry place in a sealed plastic container with moisture absorbers.

On the trail, kikely you will not be able to keep any bag 100% dry at all times - on cold nights condensation will usually at least dampen a bag. Strive to keep it as dry as possible, by the following:
store it in a plastic bag inside a stuff sack of some sort - perhaps a dry bag type. Sleep in a hammock with a generous sized tarp, or use careful campsite selection to keep water from running into your tent or tarp. Make sure your shelter has good ventilation to keep condensation to a minimum. Make sure your water bottle lid is on snugly if you keep it close at hand during the night. Stay away from other people with water bottles close at hand.

daddytwosticks
03-03-2010, 08:33
With my hiking style, I tend to get into camp earlier than most hikers. After obtaining water (#1 priority), I string a clothesline and begin airing out/drying damp/wet clothing and my sleeping bag. An hour or two in direct sunshine does wonders for a damp down sleeping bag! :)

Lyle
03-03-2010, 08:36
As River Runner said, if you use your bag, it will get damp, even "wet" at times. Your best hope is to minimize this. All good advice above. I would add: daddytwosticks beat me to the post button!

- Do not sleep with your face buried in the bag, each breath will add moisture directly into your bag.