PDA

View Full Version : Hiking Boots

ExplorerAtHeart
03-05-2010, 19:44
Im a college student who used to go out on the AT with my dad when I was younger. These were short trips that only were a couple days long and we only really stayed at one shelter.

Im starting to get into hiking again and want to go out for a couple of weeks during the summer. My dad bought me a pair of hiking boots a couple of years ago that I have used every now and then for other hikes and snow, unfortunately these are too small and squeeze my toes. Ok for a fe hours mabe but not for weeks on end.

Im looking for advice on the process of getting new boots for long term hiking. Are there only hiking boots or are there shoes too?

Tuckahoe
03-05-2010, 19:56
You are going to get all kinds of advice and opinions. Since you are in Yorktown, might I suggest that you take a moment to go over to Blue Ridge Mountian Sports here in town and get properly measured. That should atleast give you a good start when you are shopping for boots. The manager Bobby Hall will take care of you.

Rocket Jones
03-05-2010, 20:55
+1 on Blue Ridge Mountain Sports. I spent quite a while in the store being fitted for boots and when they didn't have anything that fit just right they found a competitor closer to my home that sold the boots they thought I should get.

They're a class act.

carobe
03-06-2010, 17:47
In case it wasn't already apparent, BRMS is a great place to start. They were the first place I went to when I started (back then they were off Richmond Road), and still head to when needed.

Roland
03-06-2010, 18:00
~
Im looking for advice on the process of getting new boots for long term hiking. Are there only hiking boots or are there shoes too?

30-40 years ago, anyone who hiked in sneakers was looked upon as a goofer. It was believed that heavy leather boots were needed to provide the ankle support necessary to carry heavy loads. Nearly everyone used boots.