PDA

View Full Version : Hot Springs to Max Patch in 1 day?

grrickar
10-01-2004, 18:04
Is it possible, or are we kidding ourselves that we can make it there in a day? I wanted to spend time there and check out the stars (I'm an amateur astronomer), and take some pics but the only way it fit into the hike was to reach the summit in the first day, then make it to Standing Bear on the second day.

From there on the NOC we are looking at 14mile or less days for the most part. If we bite off more than we can chew the fallback is to end at Fontana Dam. Any suggestions contrary to what we have planned? We are starting at sunrise Monday. Both of us are in reasonably good shape, both with 2.5 days food and water with my pack coming in around 34lbs, his coming in at 33lbs.

We each pick up a food drop at Standing Bear, and are not planning to resupply until we hit Fontana Dam, where we will pickup a mail drop with 2+ days of food.

Here is the itinerary we are thinking about:

Day 1 - Hot Springs to Max Patch 19.8 mi (whew, getting tired just thinking about it)

Day 2 - Max Patch to Standing Bear 14.8 mi

Day 3 - Standing Bear to Cosby Knob 13.3 mi

Day 4 - Cosby Knob to Pecks Corner 12.3mi

Day 5 - Pecks Corner to Mt. Collins 14.9mi

Day 6 - Mt. Collins to Derrick Knob 13.5mi

Day 7 - Derrick Knob to Spence Field 6.3mi

Day 8 - Spence Field to Doe Knob 8.5mi

Day 9 - Doe Knob to Fontana Dam 8.2mi

Day 10 - Fontana Dam to Brown Fork Gap Shelter 12.7mi

Day 11 - Brown Fork Gap Shelter to US 19 (NOC)16mi

A-Train
10-01-2004, 18:45