PDA

View Full Version : Good hikes

PecosBackpacker
10-03-2004, 15:14
Hello
I am a new member and would like to know a few things;
1) I would like to try to hike some of the AT for a few days this summer. I have been to most of the states it runs through so I would like to hike in some of the New England states. Can someone tell me which are some good 3-4 day treks?
2) I have done only a few miles of the AT in my life (from Delaware Water Gap in New Jersey - Sunfish pond. a whole 12 miles R/T). I have done a little bit of research on it though, but I am just now hearing of "shelters." Are these lean-to's or something like cabins for hikers to spend the night.

I am sorry if these questions sound a bit childish and dumb but I have little AT experience. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

PecosBackpacker
10-03-2004, 15:36
It would probably help to mention that I have hiked in the Indian Peaks Wilderness of Colorado and the Pecos Wilderness of New Mexico so I can handle some pretty rough hiking.

Lone Wolf
10-03-2004, 15:48
Most shelters are 3 sided lean-to's, some with overhangs and/or lofts.

Peaks
10-03-2004, 15:57
If you are interested in multiple day hikes along the AT, why not buy Victoria and Frank Logue's book "best overnight hikes on the AT?"

The Eleven
10-04-2004, 12:17
Welcome Aboard! If you really want something challenging, I would recommend the Mahoosac Notch/Arm in New Hampshire. It runs from Grafton Notch State Park area in Maine (just over the border) to Rte 2 in New Hampshire. Pick up the AT guide book/maps for New Hampshire for details! You may want to break it up. Very rugged but rewarding views and wildlife.....remote! Happy Trails! Steve (Little Bear 2) in CT

kentucky
10-04-2004, 12:23
I would say some of mass for 3 or 4 days pretty country!kentucky

chris
10-04-2004, 13:39