PDA

View Full Version : The Great smoky mountains

ike1985
03-14-2010, 11:46
Hey everybody, i know this is whiteblaze and mainly centered on the AT, but i needed some advice as most of the members here tend to be on my side of the country (SE) as opposed to bpl (west).

I am going to the smokies for 3 nights 4 days in july. Some of my questions:
I am planning a 40-50 mile loop.
I've already got my gear figured out, hiking is not new to me.

How populated will the trails be?

*We will both be using hammock/tarp setups and i am confused about the shelter situation. Will we be allowed to stealth camp, or if we must camp at designated sites, will we be allowed to stray a bit from the site for privacy but stay within way an 1/8th mile?

Are bear canisters/spray needed? I am leaning toward spray only.

How would you rate the difficulty of the trails?

Can you recommend routes?

Any advice you can give me, or things to know would be great as this is my first time in the smokies! thanks everybody

ike1985
03-14-2010, 11:49
Also what about fire reguations (only at campsites?, etc)

Do temps in july ever get low in the smokeys?

Ox97GaMe
03-14-2010, 12:16
It will depend on when in July and what trails you choose. The park has an annual phenomenon called 'Syncronized Fireflies'. During a 2-3 week period, it is difficult to get into areas around Tremont and Elkmont. This is a cool thing to see if you get a chance. There are only 2 places in the world where this supposedly happens. SMNP and someplace in China.