PDA

View Full Version : Bug Protection

Megapixel
03-14-2010, 12:40
I'm posting this here since we are considering this piece of gear:

http://www.rei.com/product/708136

for our upcoming thru hike of the JMT. Any thoughts or better yet experiences with this hat? It doesn't appear to have any mesh for the face, which is my biggest concern since I'm not aware of the capabilities of the bug shield the hat is treated with. Love the sun protection it will provide, just a bit worried about the mosquito protection.

Thanks in advance folks.

scottdennis
03-14-2010, 12:50
Personally it looks like a waste of money to me. It may be good for sun, but its open as you said.

So you will be putting a chemically treated garment right next to your face. I'm not too big on that.

What happens after 70 washes? You buy a new hat? (I would guess that a dirty hat would block the chemical that "keeps the bugs away."

It just looks gimmicky to me. (But I have no first hand experience.)

Megapixel
03-14-2010, 13:18
Yeah i'm leaning heavily towards mesh enclosure over a hat...i wasn't too concerned about the 70 washes as I don't wash hats very often, but all in all i agree that it won't offer solid bug protection.

Mountain Wildman
03-14-2010, 13:33
How did permethrin originate, and what are its uses?
Permethrin is a man-made version of a natural insect repellent found in certain chrysanthemum plants. The Insect Shield process binds a proprietary permethrin formula tightly to fabric fibers resulting in effective, odorless insect protection that lasts beyond the expected lifetime of apparel. Permethrin has been successfully used in the United States as an U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)-registered product since 1977, with an excellent safety record. It is used in lice shampoos for children, flea dips for dogs, and various other products, some of which are regulated by the FDA.</SPAN></SPAN></SPAN></SPAN></SPAN>
Which insects does Insect Shield repel?