PDA

View Full Version : I need a Camcorder suggestion

David@whiteblaze
03-19-2010, 14:06
I am planning on video-documenting my thruhike(s) and need a good, high-quality, less than 3-pound total, semi-shock resistant, tripod/gorrillapod mountable camcorder, can anyone point me in the right direction?

V Eight
03-19-2010, 15:01
A guy at work has one of these

http://store.theflip.com/UltraHD.aspx

I know he really likes it, but I do not know
If it will fit your requirements.

David@whiteblaze
03-19-2010, 15:24
well, I am not good at holding aything like that steady unless it has a standard shape and strap.

Mrs Baggins
03-19-2010, 16:01
We bought this for our daughter's wedding last summer.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Sony+-+Handycam+Digital+Camcorder+with+80GB+Hard+Disk+Dr ive+and+2.7%22+LCD+Monitor+-+Blue/9738635.p?id=1218164387091&skuId=9738635

Got it on sale for just under $300 at the time. Fits in the palm of my (small) hand, extremely easy to use, has a tripod mount, excellent quality video and audio, takes the Memory Stick Pro Duo cards (very small). We found an 8 GB card held just about 4 hours of video. It does go through the battery in about 2 hours, so we have a spare as well as the wall mount charger for it so we don't have to use the power cord. (those things - the memory cards, extra battery and wall mount charger are all extras that I bought on Amazon rather than pay store prices).

Ender
03-19-2010, 16:03
I would suggest getting a point&shoot camera with video capabilities. Preferably HD video capabilities. That way you aren't carrying to separate devices.

Mrs Baggins
03-19-2010, 16:17
I would suggest getting a point&shoot camera with video capabilities. Preferably HD video capabilities. That way you aren't carrying to separate devices.