PDA

View Full Version : need advice

Jeepxman
03-25-2010, 12:26
First and foremost, i am new to the AT but not new to hiking. I have a week off the first part of April and planned on doing the GA section. How crowded will it be during that time? Should i make other plans and stay out of the way of all the THs???:-?

Cookerhiker
03-25-2010, 12:30
If that's the section you want to hike, go for it. Yes, there will be lots of hikers so make sure you have a tent or hammock or some sort of shelter and study the maps for camping places and water so that you're not bound by shelter locations. I believe there is another recent thread or 2 about campsites in Georgia and hopefully some other Dawgs will chime in here.

Lone Wolf
03-25-2010, 12:32
First and foremost, i am new to the AT but not new to hiking. I have a week off the first part of April and planned on doing the GA section. How crowded will it be during that time? Should i make other plans and stay out of the way of all the THs???:-?

it will be very crowded. come to Damascus and head north

DAJA
03-25-2010, 13:19
You're as entitled to the trail as the THers... Get out there and enjoy it.. I'll be hiking Davenport Gap to Allan Gap next week.. I expect it to be very busy, but this is the section my lady wished to do for her birthday..

Kerosene
03-25-2010, 13:46
Shelter areas can get very crowded if you hit a 'bubble' of hikers, but if you hike a bit farther you can camp by yourself and fit 'in between' the bubbles. It's actually pretty easy to stick to yourself if you want to.

bigmac_in
03-25-2010, 13:53
I wouldn't do that section at that time, but to each his own. Too many people for my taste. I'd take Lone Wolf's suggestion if you're set on that date.

Jeepxman
03-25-2010, 14:10
Thanks for everyone's words of wisdom.

DAJA
03-25-2010, 14:14
I wouldn't do that section at that time, but to each his own. Too many people for my taste. I'd take Lone Wolf's suggestion if you're set on that date.