PDA

View Full Version : Water Purification

smoody2
03-26-2010, 13:15
Anybody have recommendations here? I am considering the UV light sticks, and micropur. Micropur is expensive, and I have never used a UV stick before. I have an old katadyn water pump, but it's a little heavy in my opinion. Thanks for the suggestions!

Sam

butts0989
03-26-2010, 13:29
on the AT? carry aqua mira squirt bottles. If you dont like the price, or you're thru hiking, its more economical to buy a Steripen. Personally on the AT most of the water sources are so close to the springs i typically will not filter the water, meaning the aqua mira will last me for up to a month.

Spokes
03-26-2010, 14:08
Yes, Aqua Mira.

Blissful
03-26-2010, 14:09
Aqua mira.

white_russian
03-26-2010, 14:17
I like my katadyn pump for the summer, but if it likely to freeze up I use my steripen. I really like the pump because I can suck water up from puddles if I needed to.

Two Tents
03-26-2010, 14:42
I use gravity filter when I do feel the need to filter. MSR, Amigo pro,and Jason Klass has a homemade one from a Frontier that I use. I think you can find how get to his site through the search feature here.

cravj1988
03-26-2010, 15:21
I use 2 drops of generic bleach per liter of water. After Hurricane Katrina, many scientific articles were published on how to economically teat water with clorine. Aqua Mira is too expensive for me, but people like it. I carried about 3 oz of 6% sodium hypoclorite bleach in a squirt bottle from REI. The bleach can also be used to clean bed mats at Hostels, and kill chiggers that get under your skin.

carlyque19
03-26-2010, 15:40
....we can't seem to find it anywhere in IL. We were told they no longer sell it here and since it is the product we were leaning towards, I was wondering..
is it easy to find along the trail??

:confused:

Mountain Wildman
03-26-2010, 15:41
I have a First Need XL.