PDA

View Full Version : Thru hike camera and downloading question

jbrecon2
04-04-2010, 10:53
I was wondering how thru hiker with a digital camera add their pics to trail journals while on a thru hike. I am not very technically savvy and i'm sure there is a simple answer. I am also looking for any simple camera suggestions. I've read alot of threads on here, but am just looking for something simple under 200 bucks. Should I buy a big memory card? Or do you generally download your pics than clear the camera?

white_russian
04-04-2010, 11:09
For uploading it is best to have someone at home do it for you. You don't want to tie up the computers and waste your town time doing it as you go. So to do this you need to get the pictures to them somehow. Some folks do this by mailing memory cards back and forth between home. Some folks do this by taking the card to a place like a CVS/Walgreens/RiteAid and having them burn the pictures to a CD that they can mail home.

jbrecon2
04-04-2010, 11:26
very helpful, thank you

Don H
04-04-2010, 12:00
I was thinking about having 4 batteries and 2 large memory cards.
I'd leave the charger at home along with 2 batteries and a memory card and swap out as needed.

Lyle
04-04-2010, 12:01
For uploading it is best to have someone at home do it for you. You don't want to tie up the computers and waste your town time doing it as you go. So to do this you need to get the pictures to them somehow. Some folks do this by mailing memory cards back and forth between home. Some folks do this by taking the card to a place like a CVS/Walgreens/RiteAid and having them burn the pictures to a CD that they can mail home.