PDA

View Full Version : Mile Ratio for Section hiking

sasquatch2014
04-08-2010, 22:21
As I once again found myself in the car driving down now all too familiar routes heading out for another section hike I began to think about all the miles that I have put on the car for the sake of trying to section out this trail. I am new to this game and so I am sure that my miles are low compared to some of you out there. I also happen to live close to the trail so my distance is again shortened.

As my hiking partner and I talked about the cost that is incurred by the section hiker we talked about the miles that are also put in and the time away from family. In some cases a thru hiker in top shape can cover almost twice as many miles as a section hiker so it takes us twice as long so twice the amount of nights away from family and work.

As i have already said I am fairly new compared to some so it was easy to sit down and think back to my trips and input them into mapquest to get the miles driven. I then took that and used it against the hiked. For every mile that I hike I have driven 3.9 miles so I am at a 25.9% level of hiked to driven.

What are you at for your section hike what is your cost or data?

Tin Man
04-08-2010, 22:27
hmmm.... something to ponder with my partners - mr. brother, mr. scotch, mr. stealth and his campfire, on my section hike in two weeks.... or maybe not :-?

jesse
04-09-2010, 00:48
Its important to know how much you spend on recreation, so you can budget for such things, but cost per mile hiked is an irrelevant number to me. Never thought about it till this thread. Now I still don't care how many miles I walk or how much they cost.

Egads
04-09-2010, 06:37
I have to drive 4+ hours to cover new ground on the AT. Usually do 30-40 miles in a two day weekend, so my ratio would be ~7-9 mi driven / mi hiked

Really need 3 day weekends to make it worthwhile, but the wife covets my attendance to those.

berkshirebirder
04-09-2010, 07:06