PDA

View Full Version : Bee allergies

brooktrout
04-09-2010, 14:11
Hi, I'm a newbie to the forum, just discovered it as I start planning a 2011 thru-hike. Just a quick question, I'm allergic to bees so I always carry a couple epi-pens when I'm fishing, hiking or camping. So far, never had to use one but as active as I am outdoors it's a matter of when, not if. Has anyone had experiences running into hornets, wasps or yellowjackets... of course I know they're out there, just wondering about any bad experiences.

brooktrout

HiKen2011
04-09-2010, 14:26
Yellow jackets are the most plentiful. They nest in the ground and sometimes close to or on the edge of the trail. If they are disturbed as you pass they will usually attack. Many times several stings. Wasps and hornets are not as big a threat.

The yellow jackets are always around shelters as well. They seem to be attracted to the smell of food.

If you're doing a thru hike I would plan on being stung.

Also just curious, if a person has never been alergic to stings can it come on at any time?

Detour

Spokes
04-09-2010, 14:44
I've been stung my share over the years- mostly by those cantankerous yellow jackets.
However, I never had any problems with bees on last years thru-hike.

brooktrout
04-09-2010, 15:10
Yellow jackets are the most plentiful. They nest in the ground and sometimes close to or on the edge of the trail. If they are disturbed as you pass they will usually attack. Many times several stings. Wasps and hornets are not as big a threat.

The yellow jackets are always around shelters as well. They seem to be attracted to the smell of food.

If you're doing a thru hike I would plan on being stung.

Also just curious, if a person has never been alergic to stings can it come on at any time?

Detour