PDA

View Full Version : Trail runners

10-K
04-18-2010, 12:33
Went on a dual purpose shakedown hike this weekend to try out:

a) Yeti

b) Trail runners

I'll get to the Yeti later, but let me just say this: Boots out, trail runners in. Switching from boots to trail runners is probably one of the best improvements I've made to my hiking experience.

As much as I run, you'd think I'd figured this out long ago... I didn't try it because I was worried about my ankles and feet. Then it dawned on me that I've been running 30-50 miles a week for the past 6 years and my ankles/feet/legs are probably more than capable to hike in trail runners.

Ordered the trail runner version of my running shoe (Brooks Adreneline ASR) and ain't looking back.

John B
04-18-2010, 13:14
What is the trail runner version of the Adreneline (that's the running shoe that I use, too)? Did you go up 1/2 size on the trail runner to accomodate thicker socks or did you keep the same size? 30-50 miles is a huge variance -- I'm assuming that the upper end is when prepping for a race?

10-K
04-18-2010, 16:30
What is the trail runner version of the Adreneline (that's the running shoe that I use, too)? Did you go up 1/2 size on the trail runner to accomodate thicker socks or did you keep the same size? 30-50 miles is a huge variance -- I'm assuming that the upper end is when prepping for a race?

The latest adreniline trail runner is the ASR #6, which came out at the same time as the GTS #10 a few months ago.

I didn't go up a half size, but probably should have. I wore liner socks on this hike and didn't have any problems though.

About the mileage, I run in approximate cycles, 30 miles, 40 miles, 50 miles then repeat. I track mileage with a Garmin 205. Since I've been hiking so much the last 2 years I've not kept this schedule as religiously as I did before I started hiking but it's what I aim for.