PDA

View Full Version : Seam Sealing

klpicktown
04-23-2010, 11:05
Just got my new TT Moment (love it) but just wanted to hear from some of you that have seam-sealed. obviously I want to follow the suggestions that came with the tent, but I am just looking for tips, pointer, etc since I have never done it before and don't want to f it up.
Anyone ever tried the seam sealer mix on the tub to stop your sleeping pad from sliding around like the directions suggest? Did you just spread a few lines or cover it or what?
Thanks for any help

garlic08
04-23-2010, 11:30
I suggest trying the floor first before smearing the stuff on it. You may not have a problem sliding around. Of the four or five close friends I hike with who use a silnylon floor, only one has problems sliding around. I think it depends on how restless you are when you sleep. Why add a couple of ounces if not needed? The stuff also makes it more difficult to sweep out the tent.

Less is more when applying the goop. A thin coat is better than a thick coat. Good luck and enjoy the Moment, so to speak. It looks like a great tent.

garlic08
04-23-2010, 11:32
Oh yeah, if you do need stuff on the floor, I heard dots are better than lines, for the reason of making it easier to sweep it out.

Roland
04-23-2010, 11:37
I agree with garlic.

Don't paint the floor with seam sealer. It will attract dust and dirt. If your pad slides, paint a few lines on the bottom of your pad instead. Position these lines under the pressure points of your body; shoulders, hips, etc.

Thin your sealant enough so it will flow into the needle holes. This not only enhances the waterproofing qualities of the tent, but it also reinforces the stress points in the seams. Sealant which is globbed on top of the seam may help waterproof your tent, but it won't add strength to the stress points.

Highstepper
04-23-2010, 18:01