PDA

View Full Version : Things aren't suppose to be like this....

K2
04-23-2010, 23:54
It's a whine; I'm sorry.

My start on the AT was suppose to start last Sunday, but I got sidelined by medical problems.

And then, THIS happens:

Today, I slipped and fell while getting out of the bathtub. I hit the tub; I hit the toilet; I pulled the shower curtain down; etc. As a result, I have spent much of the day "under observation" by friends; I felt pretty sick for a while. My friends think I bruised a kidney, but I don't think you can do that without breaking a rib, can you? Thankfully, I didn't hit my head, and nothing is broken.

Anyway, I wish I were on the trail; I'm itching to get started.

Thank you for letting me vent. K2

fw2008
04-24-2010, 00:08
I'm no doctor, but I believe I have heard of people doing some sort of damage to internal organs without breaking anything. I've heard that happening when someone gets punched in the back real bad; not always breaking anything.
I guess the organs can get knocked around enough to cause some damage.

If I were you, having gone through a pretty nasty ordeal, and feeling a bit sick, go to a hospital and get checked out. They'll probably want to do an MRI or CATscan to check for internal damage.

I would absolutely not start any hiking or other exercise for a while.

Hope you feel better and get your hike going soon.

FW

Roland
04-24-2010, 02:30
Sounds like a serious case of cold feet. Looking for a graceful way to bow-out after months of talk.

Pre-hike jitters are not uncommon. Just get out there and start hiking. The butterflies will disappear quickly.

OTOH, if you truly believe you are injured, seek medical attention rather than place yourself under the observation of your friends.

TIDE-HSV
04-24-2010, 02:32