PDA

View Full Version : Split from Unexperienced Hiker Thread: Is this a good hike for me?

Annelotte
04-20-2010, 19:34
Hello, my name is Annelotte. I'm a dutch student from the Netherlands studying in Philadelphia for the semester. After my study I am planning to hike a part of the AT. I have never hiked before; I have been camping and the likes but never hiking, so I really need all the advice you guys can give me. I do have some specific questions:
- I was thinking about hiking for about one week. The part I'm interested in is basically PA down to West Virginia, since that is relatively close to Philadelphia. Would you know if this is a very difficult section? Or good for starters? Also, how many miles would say I would be able to hike in one week, being an unexperienced hiker?
- How would I get to the trail? I have no car... Are there any trains or busses going near the Trail? Or are there people willing to give me a ride there?
- What should one pack for a week hike? Like how many foodstuff, clothes, etc?
- Any essential equipment I might need but might not think of as an inexperienced hiker?
- Any other advice? The more you could tell me the better!

Thank you all,
Annelotte

WHISTAND
04-27-2010, 18:53
Hello, I am new to this site. I have been hiking all year round (day hikes) up and down the mts in Potter County PA. I am a 50 yo woman and plan on hiking the AT solo. I need to be in the mts. Do you think the above hike would be good for me?

Lilred
04-27-2010, 19:45
The above hike would be good for anybody, go for it!! From another 50yo female hiker that's been hiking solo since 2003.

Cookerhiker
04-27-2010, 20:10
Hello, I am new to this site. I have been hiking all year round (day hikes) up and down the mts in Potter County PA. I am a 50 yo woman and plan on hiking the AT solo. I need to be in the mts. Do you think the above hike would be good for me?