PDA

View Full Version : Should I take my Hennessy Supershelter on a summer AT hike?

Freigeist
05-07-2010, 22:13
So, in a few days I'll be leaving for Springer and hiking the AT till mid August, and I'd originally intended to bring my Hennessy explorer dlx, stock fly, supershelter (+ space blanket), and 30 degree bag for the shelter, but right now in the interests of cutting pounds I'm reevaluating my gear and seeing what I really don't need. Which brings me to my question -- does it get cold enough along the AT in mid may -> mid august that the supershelter would really be needed any given the rest of my stuff? What's the coldest it can be expected to get (I've done low 40s just fine without it, high forties with wind and rain). Also, will it even ever get cold enough to warrant the bag (I'm guessing yes). I have a 55 degree bag that's a pound lighter -- would that leave my hypothermic at any point?

Egads
05-07-2010, 22:35
We are still seeing 50*s with a rare 40* morning. I'd leave the pad behind and bring a 40*+ bag. You'll be hot with anything more than a fleece quilt / blanket most nights in July / August

Pagandaddy
05-07-2010, 23:06
We'll be getting into the 40s Sunday morning, but after that lows in the low 60s. High Humidity also. As long as you have dry clothes to change into in camp you could be fine without a bag.

Just Jeff
05-08-2010, 08:39
In a hammock, you'll probably want some sort of bottom insulation below about 70F at night, especially if it's windy. I'd bring the supershelter.

FishBone
05-08-2010, 09:02
I'm doing a section from Bland, VA to Daleville, VA in late May-early June. Taking my HH super shelter with a JRB N'Snvlr. It may be a little warmer set-up than most people would need, but I sleep cold and I can always shake the down to the sides of the NS if it gets too warm and remove the space blanket or move the underpad off to the side. YMMV. Have a great hike!

Freigeist
05-08-2010, 09:32