PDA

View Full Version : Great Divide Trail + CDT

clured
05-08-2010, 13:33
Hey folks, wanted to ask a quick question about "early" season weather/snow conditions on the northern continental divide.

I'm thinking about doing the CDT SOBO this season - then, I got the idea that it could be great fun to tack on the ~700 mile Great Divide Trail (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Divide_Trail) onto the top.

The big question, though, is whether or not its feasible/safe to head up into the central Canadian rockies in early June. Assuming I'd need to get moving on the CDT proper by about July 1, I'd need to start the GDT rather early in the summer, and I'm trying to figure out if that's doable.

Skills-wise, I have a lot of experience with crampons/iceaxe hiking, etc. But, I'm not interested in doing crazy stuff.

Anyone here know anything about the GDT?

Thanks,
David

Dogwood
05-08-2010, 17:19
LOL. What a SOBO CDT thru-hike is not enough for you? I like the way you think Clured. I'm always looking to add on to my thru-hikes too.

But, some of the folks who ask questions like yours haven't ever even completed one thru-hike never mind linking two long distance trails like the CDT and GDT which would be somewhere in the neighborhood of at least 3200 + trail miles. And, when you say things with a somewhat cavalier attitude like: I'm thinking about hiking the CDT SOBO this yr on May 8 with no other comments about how you intend to do this or what preparation you have made or what research you have done it makes me very skeptical about how naive you are in wanting to accomplish such a feat by linking both the CDT and GDT in one season. You make it sound like completing a thru-hike lasting 4-7 months is like going to the grocery store to buy some apples. It's a little harder than that! Have you ever completed a thu-hike? What's the longest you have spent hiking?