PDA

View Full Version : Shelter and Pack for MT

agutwin
05-08-2010, 18:44
I'm going to be hiking the MT section of the CDT this year, starting June 15th. I'm still debating over the big two items, pack and shelter. I'm thinking of an Osprey Exos 46 and a tarptent contrail. Any suggestions/comments?

I'm new to thru hiking, but am traveling with two extremely experienced dudes.

Thanks!

Nean
05-08-2010, 18:55
I'm going to be hiking the MT section of the CDT this year, starting June 15th. I'm still debating over the big two items, pack and shelter. I'm thinking of an Osprey Exos 46 and a tarptent contrail. Any suggestions/comments?

I'm new to thru hiking, but am traveling with two extremely experienced dudes.

Thanks!

Extremly experienced on the CDT?:) No matter, gear isn't a deal breaker, bring warm clothes as chances are there will be some cold nights, cold rain and probably snowfall. I prefer a tent for a shelter for many reasons but many have done it w/ a tarp.;)

agutwin
05-08-2010, 19:13
Nean, my friends are extremely experienced in general. They both grew up hiking in Glacier and Yellowstone. I have taught for Outward Bound for two seasons and in another outdoor education program for 6 years. I understand that the gear I carry will not be a "deal breaker" but I want to be reasonably comfortable.

That being said, I would like some specific advice on the pack and shelter aspect of hiking the CDT in MT. You said you prefer a tent. Why? What kind of tent?

Thank you!

Connie
05-08-2010, 23:29
Because of wind, I prefer an OR Bug Bivy and a tarp (if I can rig it) otherwise I use the tarp cowboy bedroll-style. I don't like a tent, although I have used a Beta-Mid.

I like to see around me.

SunnyWalker
05-13-2012, 16:01
Gatewood poncho/tarp

Slo-go'en
05-13-2012, 18:09
augtwin, Why not ask your two very experianced friends? As for my 2 cents;