PDA

View Full Version : Rookie looking for advice

jeenyus
10-28-2004, 11:33
hello all,
i'm eager to start hiking the AT. 2 years ago my uncle (hay-skirtie, some of you may know him) thru-hiked the trail and it made me very excited to start hiking. well i have no prior hiking experience and i plan to do part of the trail in the summer of 2006. i was thinking maybe doin a 1/4 or 1/3 of the trail to begin with. i am in excellent physical condition as i am an avid soccer player. i have tons of questions of what i should do to prepare myself for this journey but i'd like to start with diet and physical conditioning. what should i start doing to prepare myself for this adventure? any suggestions on a conditioning routine or what i should have in my diet? are these the most important aspects i should start to work on? please help, it will be much appreciated. thank's

TakeABreak
10-28-2004, 12:07
Sounds like you are generally in good shape, but here are a few suggestions. Northeast Ohio I believe is in general like michigan small rolling hills to flat. So I suggestion periodically walking up and down stair cases or bleachers carrying a day pack, slowly increasing the amount of up and down cycles while also increasing weight of your day pack.

This will strangthen the muscles that around the knees and those muscles that are not used normally walking on flat surfaces.

When you can go for day hikes, over time increase to length of the hike and weight you carry in you pack. When increase the mileage of a hike, temporarily decrease the pack weight and then slowly increase the pack weight back to where it was prior the increased mileage. That is how I trained in 99 for my thru hike and it worked very successfully.

As far as diet goes I would start trying foods that are easy to prepare, nutriteous and high in vitamins and stuff, you will be surprised and what you like and dis-like.