PDA

View Full Version : hike advice

scott37
05-25-2010, 21:19
I am going to start a section hike from Springer to hot springs this Monday. I am a soldier in (what I consider good shape) I have my pack weight down to 33 pounds (with water and food) I am planning on doing this hike in 15 days or less. Averaging 20 mile days. I was planning on re-supplying in franklin and at fontana prior to entering the GSMNP. Then running from there to hot springs. does anyone out there with experiance of this section have any advice for me. It will be greatly appreciated and welcomed Thanks.:)

Jim Adams
05-25-2010, 21:27
Doing 15 twenty mile days in this section will be demanding and leave no room for error. Why not cut the distance and enjoy the hike. Being in shape is one thing...being ready to do 20 mile days in that terrain is something totally different. If you pull it off, IMO you will finish and wonder whether you had fun or not.

geek

Shutterbug
05-25-2010, 21:32
I am going to start a section hike from Springer to hot springs this Monday. I am a soldier in (what I consider good shape) I have my pack weight down to 33 pounds (with water and food) I am planning on doing this hike in 15 days or less. Averaging 20 mile days. I was planning on re-supplying in franklin and at fontana prior to entering the GSMNP. Then running from there to hot springs. does anyone out there with experiance of this section have any advice for me. It will be greatly appreciated and welcomed Thanks.:)

One in good shape can average 20 miles a day, but what is the rush? The two things that tend to ruin a hike are too much weight in the pack and too many miles in the day.

Your pack weight seems reasonable, but if it were me, I would reduce the number of miles.

scott37
05-25-2010, 21:34