PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions.

Captain Trips
06-08-2010, 11:57
Hello everyone,
I am planning NOBO next year and have a few questions. I have been planning this hike for about four years and decided recently that I would like to do a fundraiser as part of my hike. I am a dog trainer at the Humane Society in Blairsville, GA and thought I could raise some money for them as I hike. Do any of you have any charity hiking experience and is it worth the hassle. I wont be handling any of the money, it will all be done through the shelter.
I was also wondering how much experience any of you have with taking a dog on a thru hike. I know dogs are not allowed in SNP and BSP and am willing to carry the extra weight for my dog. My biggest worry is the health and happiness of the dog. He is in great shape and has hiked hundreds of miles with me but I don't know how well dogs hold up over a six month hike. Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

hellomolly
06-08-2010, 12:00
:welcome

I would strongly recommend visiting the specific Dogs on the AT forum for your dog related question, lest this thread turn into another oh-so-helpful dog hiker-bashing fest.... probably better to go to the specific forum related to this topic fo answers on that.

Jack Tarlin
06-08-2010, 12:13
I think the idea of a charity hike for the Humane Society is a wonderful idea.

I suggest you do a search on "Charity hikes" or "Fundraiser hikes" as this subject has been raised here before on Whiteblaze.

What a lot of folks will tell you is something like this:

*The idea of a charity hike is great, but that's what it should be.....it should
be a hike for the charity, meaning that it's certainly OK to seek out some
sponsorships for some of your gear or whatever, but NONE of the donated
funds should be used in any way shape or form to pay for your trip,
expenses, etc. I think your comment about the shelter handling all the
money is GREAT; this is how ALL charity hikes should operate.